379 days ago - Reisverslag uit Washington, D. C., Verenigde Staten van Sanne - WaarBenJij.nu 379 days ago - Reisverslag uit Washington, D. C., Verenigde Staten van Sanne - WaarBenJij.nu

379 days ago

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Sanne

31 Augustus 2014 | Verenigde Staten, Washington, D. C.

Ik had een heel stuk geschreven om als reflectie aan mensen te laten lezen op facebook, omdat ik daar toch het meeste dingen opzet m.b.t. gedachtes en reflecties.

Ik heb het niet op FB gezet, omdat na mijn grote 'dank'post van de reismaand ik het wel goed vond met filosofisch zijn op facebook en ik me een beetje moest inhouden.

Graag wil ik het wel hier plaatsen. Het is de afronding van mijn jaar in Amerika. Mijn reflectie op wat ik heb geleerd qua cultuur maar ook van mijzelf.

Wederom het is het Engels. Ik wilde het niet vertalen omdat ik denk dat ik beter tot uitdrukking kom in het Engels. Ik hoop dat het geen probleem is voor mensen.

______________________________________________

It has been 379 days after I set foot on the plane from Amsterdam to New York (Newark).
All the excitement rushing through my body accompanied by sadness of leaving my family behind on the airport in Amsterdam, for my adventure was bound to begin.

And what an adventure it turned out to be.
I can honestly say all my wishes this year have come true.
I experienced the American life I was anxious for to get to know. I experienced the friendliness of Americans. From saying ‘Hello, how are you?’ even though they are not interested in it, to getting questions asked on an escalator by people wondering where I am from because I have an accent or random compliments from random people. I will miss American curiosity.
I also experienced ‘TV America’, like the love for fried food, and that everything is big, patriotism and sometimes utter ignorance for the rest of the world.

Most of all I learned a lot about myself. I learned not being afraid of doing new things. I learned how to communicate better. I learned how to plan a ton of trips and at the same time be spontaneous about it. I learned to downplay situations. I learned to let go. I tried a lot of new food. I tried new sports. I made a ton of new fantastic friends. And without those friends all of this would be in vain and never as rewarding and amazing as I hoped it would be.

I learned things that I thought I would never really need. I’m able to convert time to 3 different time zones just looking at the clock. I can convert money currencies pretty fast (and feel richer or poorer depending on which case). I’m a professional at using google maps (planning out routes that is, driving I will always make wrong turn no matter what).
It also thought me which friendships are true and what matters most back home. It puts things in perspective and my ‘love’ for the Netherlands got bigger which came apparent during the World Cup as well as the disaster of flight MH17.
Also, mundane things you would think you would never miss suddenly appear to be one of those things you long for most. (In my case, food. It’s always food. And decent roads.)

Most importantly, you learn that to drop everything and move somewhere new is as rewarding as it is terrifying. I wouldn’t be half as brave, thoughtful, or self-aware if I hadn’t done it. I learned that ‘home’ isn’t a place, it’s the people you come to love there.
If you dare to take the chance, the sky is the limit has been my motto for a long time. And I live by it, because it is true.
Going places and chasing your dreams has 10% to do with luck 65% to do with being persistent and 25% with paperwork. You make your own luck.

America, I have lived you. I have loved you for almost 13 beautiful months. Now, my time has come to go home and say goodbye to my amazing new friends who I will miss terribly. But the time has also come to hug my parents again and my family and be welcomed back by my friends, even though it’s just for a short amount of time.
Because, London. Here I come, and I hope you’re ready.
45 reasons someone should live abroad at least once:
http://www.buzzfeed.com/ailbhemalone/45-reasons-everyone-should-live-abroad-once

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Sanne

Na 13 maanden in USA verblijf ik nu voor onbepaalde tijd in UK waar ik lesgeef op basisscholen in Londen.

Actief sinds 04 Juli 2013
Verslag gelezen: 877
Totaal aantal bezoekers 53211

Voorgaande reizen:

24 September 2014 - 08 Oktober 2014

Lesgeven in London

12 Augustus 2013 - 12 September 2014

Au Pair in America

Landen bezocht: